We’re back!

Katrin and I are home from various vacations, the reset button has been pressed, and we are feeling newly motivated. My 5 year old food phase has passed thankfully. We have both decided it’s time to lose those last lbs we need to get to our goals.
We are going to help keep each other on track when we have moments of weakness.
2 1/2 years ago I decided to lose 10 lbs. I looked up various books just to get some inspiration. I came across the 17 day diet. This book is comprised of several different phases of 17 days. In the first segment you completely eliminate starchy carbs and all refined sugar.
Yea I know, no bread, no chips, no potatoes, no sweets. Sounds impossible right? The crazy thing is that this diet is surprisingly easy. (Trust me, i had failed the south beach diet a few times) I lost the first 10 lbs so easily and fast that I decided to go for another 10. In about 3 months I had lost 20 lbs.. Without working out. Due to the addition of two servings of probiotics (Greek yogurt or kefir), two servings of fruit a day, and unlimited lean protein and “cleansing vegetables”, it makes it much easier. Cleansing vegetables are things like broccoli, celery, cauliflower, carrots, just to name a few.
Today I thought I’d share one of my super simple recipes that was one of my favorite staples.
Balsamic Roasted Cauliflower
Cauliflower (cut into florets)
Olive oil
Balsamic vinegar
Crushed garlic
Salt
Pepper

-Preheat oven to 425-450 (depending on how charred you want the veggies)
-Cut the cauliflower up
-Line a cookie sheet or roasting pan with tin foil or wax paper
-Put the cauliflower in the pan
-Drizzle balsamic vinegar over the top to your preference, I like mine fairly covered
-Drizzle a light layer of olive oil
-Sprinkle crushed garlic over the top
-Season with salt and pepper
-Roast in the oven for 20-25 mins.

20140417-100409.jpg

Enjoy! Xo

Leave a Reply

