Allergic to the sun?

I recently attended a dinner here in New York with some of the top dermatologist and plastic surgeons in the city.  What a great night! Talking lasers, skincare, food and free wine! My kind of event!  Dr. Doris Day was one of the speakers and was also sitting at our table.  If you don’t know who she is, you would recognize her.  She has been on The View, The Rachel Ray Show, 20/20 and in every magazine that is probably sitting on your table, Allure, ELLE, O the Oprah Magazine etc.. She has been working with the same lasers as I have for the past few years and I love that she loves them as much as I do!

As she discussed Melasma, IPL and hyperpigmentation, she made a point to note that anyone with extreme pigmentation should just consider themselves “allergic to the sun”.  Very smart! Wearing sunscreen/sunblock and avoiding the sun is honestly so important, I can’t stress that enough.  She also mentioned a product that I’ve never heard of before, Heliocare.  I feel like I have been missing out!  What is it is a daily vitamin that you take, especially if you ARE allergic to the sun.  After doing some research and reading online reviews, I decided to try it.  A little back history here, every time I go on vacation in a humid climate, my eczema freaks out and I end up with a rash EVERYWHERE!!! Especially on my arms and it is not cute! Really, see my post about my miracle milk bath and you will understand.  More about Heliocare; Heliocare contains a potent antioxidant called Polypodium leucotomos (PLE) which is a fern from Central America, which when taken before sun exposure can reduce reddening of the skin and signs of skin damage.  Yes!

From WebMD

“Polypodium leucotomos is used to prevent certain skin problems including sunburn,eczema (atopic dermatitis), psoriasis, vitiligo, and skin cancer. It is also used for other cancers and Alzheimer’s disease.

Polypodium leucotomos might have antioxidant effects. Antioxidants might prevent damage caused by excessive sun exposure. ”

Directions for use: (according to the box)

  • Take 1 Capsule daily in the morning.
  • When prolonged sun exposure is anticipated, take one capsule one half hour before exposure to sunlight and a second capsule 2-3 hours after initial capsule.

So, I have a vacation coming up in a week, I have my vitamins and am starting them today!  I will report back to see if they helped me as much as they’ve helped everyone else.  I do want to stress that this is not a sunscreen or sunblock.  You would still apply SPF topically.  This helps your body protect itself from the sun naturally.

Until then, wish me luck!

xoxo

K

2 thoughts on “Allergic to the sun?

Leave a Reply

