My latest obsession

I am one of those people who is constantly researching what’s healthy and what’s not. I try to use glass or stainless steel when at all possible. I buy almost everything organic. I use makeup free of nano particles and known carcinogenic ingredients. So when I read an article about how
k-cups contain BPA, I had to find a safe alternative.
One day my father told me about the bulletproof upgraded coffee. I looked into it, and as it turns out, most coffee contains mycotoxins, a kind of mold that is toxic to your health. Add running heated water through a k-cup made with BPA and you’ve suddenly got a daily dose of nastiness.
I actually just started drinking coffee.. Well actually espresso about two years ago. With all the recent research about how coffee has now been found with have lots of health benefits, I justified making it a part of my daily routine. I bought one of those Starbucks Verismos for our place. It’s been great. It makes coffee and espresso, but I’m just not crazy about this BPA mycotoxin thing.
All the info I have been able to find online says that arabica coffee beans that have been washed or wet processed are considerably cleaner and more than likely free of mycotoxins. I went to bed bath and beyond with the intent of buying a coffee grinder and a moka pot to brew my espresso. Apparently you need a slightly upgraded version of a coffee grinder called a burr grinder for grinding espresso to nice fine even consistency. While I was looking at the moka pots I noticed something called an aeropress. I looked it up online and it had great reviews. I decided to give it a whirl.

20140303-222916.jpg

20140303-223002.jpg
You take a little filter and put it in the bottom cap and then screw it onto the tube

20140303-223033.jpg
Then place that on top of your coffee cup

20140303-223236.jpg
Then pour your freshly ground coffee into the tube

20140303-223342.jpg
Slowly pour hot water into the tube with the espresso grinds

20140303-223435.jpg
Take the mixing wand and stir the hot water and espresso for about 5-10 seconds

20140303-223553.jpg
Then take the plunger and slowly push it through the tube pushing the espresso into the cup

20140303-223652.jpg
I always add a little trader joes organic stevia (it’s the best tasting one I have found)

20140303-223750.jpg
I also have this awesome milk foamer which makes the perfect latte

20140303-223840.jpg
I am loving my new latte setup! It looks like a lot of work but it’s actually quite easy.. Especially once you get the routine down. I also just found some awesome organic washed coffee beans online that I am loving.
You can make regular coffee in the aeropress as well, and even cooler we can take it camping with us!

Leave a Reply

