Rustic Gluten Free Blueberry Banana Muffins w/Chia Seeds

collage_20140130144437507_20140130144515358 (2) 

Today has been freezing in my little NYC apartment! Darn polar vortex! It finally has reached 20 degrees outside. So while I am stuck in the house, I decided to bake something (also to warm up my apartment!).  Looking through what I have to work with since I didn’t want to go to the store, I found 3 ripe bananas, frozen blueberries and gluten-free oatmeal packets. After about 15 minutes searching online, I found multiple recipes that I liked then just made it my own.  You can too! Feel free to adjust, add, change anything you feel like.  That is the beauty of cooking! I wouldn’t mess with the base too much though, that is what holds it all together.

Rustic Gluten Free Blueberry Banana Muffins w/Chia Seeds

2 cups almond flour

1 cup GF instant oatmeal packets (I used two packets)

1 cup organic cane sugar

1 tsp baking soda

.5 tsp salt

.5 tsp cinnamon (maybe add nutmeg to? I didn’t have any on hand)

.5-1 cups Chia Seeds ( I threw this in for fun, hey why not?)

2-3 ripe bananas (I used 3, silly to leave one out)

2 large brown eggs

1/3 cup Butter-melted (This is where I took Earth Balance Natural Buttery Spread w/omega-3 and coconut oil to make the 1/3 cup)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1-1.5 cups of frozen blueberries

Step One: Put on cute apron and some fun music. (This is important!) Always look cute while baking and enjoy the time.  Never let it become a chore. Plus, if your honey walks in you look extra cute cute!

Step Two: Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Step Three: Line muffin tin with paper cups (if you are presenting these to friends, then I say go all out and get some fancy ones!)

Step Four: In a medium bowl, mix all dry ingredients together.  Flour + oatmeal + sugar + baking soda + salt  + chia seeds + cinnamon.  (I realize now that I could have added 1 tsp of baking powder too, oops!)

Step Five: In a separate bowl, mix together all the wet stuff.  Mashed up bananas + eggs + vanilla extract + butter (or coconut oil mixture)

Step 6: Now fold in the banana mixture into the flour mixture.  When that is nice and mixed, add the frozen blueberries.

Step Seven: Spoon batter into muffin cups.  Bake for 15-18 minutes.  Keep an eye on them, and rotate the pan half way through in case your oven has hot spots.

Double check with a toothpick that it is done, it should come out clean.  In a pinch you can also use a chop stick.  Hey I live in NYC, we get takeout all the time.  Don’t judge 😉

Step Eight: Remove when done, let cool for about 10 minutes or so.

TIP-When the sides of the muffins are turning golden brown, you can add a little bit of sugar on top, then put them back into the oven. This will create a nice crunchy topping.

IMG_20140130_152659 (2)

Viola! Yay! It wasn’t a total disaster! That is always a great reason to celebrate.  They came out more cake like, which I like better anyhow.

Hope you enjoy! If you make these, let me know what you think! What did you change to make it your own?

xoxo

Katrin

T cookin

(Not a picture from today, but see! Wearing my apron!) 

Leave a Reply

